In the Kitchen

The Most Important Meal of the Day

Several times in our Life Group at church someone has provided Crockpot Oatmeal for breakfast. It was so yummy and I decided that it was time to try to make some for the family. Being an avid pinner on Pinterest I searched for Crockpot Oatmeal Pins. I found several and chose to a combine/alter a few recipes. The main two recipes that I used to guide me were Frugal Upstate’s Overnight Crockpot Oatmeal and Mel’s Kitchen Cafe’s Overnight Maple Brown Sugar Oatmeal.
I started with the ingredients pictured below. Couldn’t find the Steel Cut Oats at the local grocery, but our Super Target had them (yay!). I also added 1/2 cup of Heavy Whipping Cream to the mix. One of the recipes called for milk, but I had the cream on hand and didn’t want it to go to waste.

Just dump all of the ingredients in the crock with the 7 cups of water and give it a good stir. Put the lid on the pot, set it on the low setting, and go to bed.
Eight hours later, this is what you get:

A good stir and they are looking a bit more like oatmeal.

Scoop some oats into your bowl and top however you like. I chose butter, brown sugar, and raisins.

To complete my breakfast I added a couple of hardboiled eggs and a cup of coffee (of course). I know that I should have eaten some fresh fruit with my cereal, but this girl is not a huge fruit fan. :)

The next time I try crockpot oatmeal, I’ll probably use a bit less liquid. I like my oatmeal pretty thick and this was a bit soupy for me, but still really tasty! I loved the flavor! I will also spray the crockpot with cooking spray, because there was some sticking. I want to get all of the oatmeal into our bowls, not have it stuck to the pot.
** Had the leftovers the next day and they were THICK! Just the way I like them. Yum!!

Aly’s Crockpot Oatmeal
2 cups Steel Cut Oats
7 cups water
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream (or milk)
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup light brown sugar
Add all ingredients to crockpot. Set crockpot setting to low and cook 7-8 hours. Once oats are done, stir well and serve with choice of toppings.Impor
Suggested toppings:
Raisins, Craisins, brown (or white) sugar, butter, chopped nuts, chocolate chips, berries, banana, milk.
(Originally posted in Blogger July 2, 2012.)
Leave a Reply

