Pinterest Challenge / Sew There

PC Day 16 – Denim Repurposing

I have several pairs of jeans that are worn through at the seams. I have always hated to throw out so much great denim when only a small section was ruined. Well, the garbage will no longer claim our worn out jeans. I have learned to sew and Pinterest has offered inspiring ideas for using jeans and other denim.

I am loving aprons. They are the perfect sized project. They aren’t so big that they take forever, but they aren’t so small that I feel as if I’ve hardly done a thing. I chose this pin: http://pinterest.com/pin/273664114828587296/ . It was great “Pinspiration”. I grabbed an old pair of jeans and some fabric scraps and got to work. (I love the clearance fabric at JoAnn’s and Hobby Lobby. There are some great finds in those bins.)

I really should have taken pictures as I progressed through this project, but alas I did not. It was a bit of an undertaking and I was kind of making it up as I went along. Here’s what I ended up with:

I started by cutting the legs and back off of the jeans. Then I created the two ruffles and sewed them on. (I am so happy that I learned how to make a ruffle. Here’s a great tutorial if you’d like to learn how: http://www.aprettycoollife.com/2010/04/how-to-make-ruffle.html .)  I added the Rick-Rack trim around the pockets, side and bottom. Next came the apron stings (belt). I had to piece together the remaining scraps, but it looks okay. I did sew the front of the belt to the apron and had to break the stitch line because of the belt loops and the button. I just covered the stitches with more Rick-Rack to hide the terrible seam and uneven stitching. I decided to add a lining onto the back of the apron, because I didn’t want all of the raw edges and inside of the denim showing. This is where it got really tricky. I went through about seven sewing machine needles. UGH! I finally got it secured and am relatively pleased with the end result. Not sure if I’ll keep this one for myself or try to sell it at a future craft show.

Leave a Reply

