In the Kitchen

Valentine’s Cupcakes (with a Cherry on Top)

Tonight, a group of my girlfriends is getting together to scrapbook. I love our girlie outings and feel that all girl fun must include sweets. Since I am becoming known for my cupcakes, I decided to whip up a batch. Since it’s February, I thought it would be fun to try to give them a Valentine theme. I decided to find something with cherries. When I googled Cherry cupcakes, the choices were all more involved than I was looking for. So I googled Cherry cakes and found this one: http://www.food.com/recipe/swirled-cherry-cake-64056 . It was simple enough, so I decided to make it into cupcakes instead of a bundt. I folded the cherry pie filling into the batter instead of swirling it into each cake.

IMG_0485 IMG_0486

 

I baked them at 350 degrees for about 21 minutes.

IMG_0488

 

After they had cooled for a few minutes, the middles fell a bit. Since the batter was a bit thin, I should have filled the cups a little fuller. The cake is very moist and dense. They aren’t the prettiest, but they are tasty. I found a frosting recipe here: http://repurposedlife.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/cherry-vanilla-cupcakes-with-almond-cream-cheese-frosting/ . I doubled it to make sure that I would have plenty. I have a little bit left over. (Oh darn!) I wish that I had added a bit more almond extract and worn gloves when handling the maraschino cherries. Other than that, I am fairly pleased with the end result. We’ll see what the girls think tonight.

IMG_0491 IMG_0494 IMG_0493

Leave a Reply

