In the Kitchen / Pinterest Challenge

PC Projects 20, 21, & 22 – A Very Pinterest Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day is not a really big deal in our house and I am not one of those moms who does little goodie bags for each kid in all of my kids’ classes. Their classmates got Avenger’s Valentines signed by each respective D. kid, even Cassie’s. I did however want to try to make Valentine’s Day fun and sweet this year, so I turned to my favorite room in the house: the kitchen! I found 3 pins on Pinterest that looked promising. Check them out

Here: http://pinterest.com/pin/273664114828013688/

And here: http://pinterest.com/pin/273664114829127039/

And here: http://pinterest.com/pin/273664114829108482/

These three were really easy and relatively quick.

I started with the peanut butter balls.

IMG_0496

 

I can’t believe that the secret to Reese’s peanut butter cups is graham cracker crumbs. This peanut buttery concoction taste just like Reese’s! Yum!

IMG_0508 IMG_0507

 

I am not the most patient person, so my spheres were not equally sized or even all that spherical. However, they were yummy, and that’s what really counts. If I make them again, I’ll either get some kind of wire rack contraption and pour the chocolate over them or a slotted spoon of some sort to allow the chocolate to flow off of the peanut butter a bit. The end result was a bit thick on the chocolate and while I love chocolate, I wanted an easier time getting at that peanut butter goodness.

Second up (or Pin#2): Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Could these be any easier?!? I’ll never pay an exorbitant amount for these delicious treats again. They only require 2 ingredients (chocolate and strawberries) and a few minutes out of the day.

IMG_0498 IMG_0502 IMG_0504

 

I rinsed off the berries and let them dry off for a while. Then I melted the chocolate and got to dipping. I chilled them in the fridge for a few minutes before adding the white chocolate and sprinkles. (I used dark chocolate on both the berries and the balls so I could call them a healthier treat…)

IMG_0509 IMG_0510

 

The white chocolate peanut butter balls are the result of too much melted white chocolate. What a tasty happenstance.

Now, on to Pin#3: Valentine’s Floats:

These were also quick and easy. And, they were a huge hit with the kids. The Twizzler “straws” didn’t work out because they weren’t actually straws (I couldn’t find Red Vines.), but the kids didn’t mind. One thing that I learned about making floats: add the ice cream to the soda, not the other way around. There was frothy goodness aplenty!

IMG_0512

 

All in all, it was a sweet and fun evening with the man and the kids. I love these quick and easy Pinterest ideas. They make an ordinary day (or holiday) just a bit more special.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

